Additional Resources

W3C WAI stands for the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI). This organization publishes the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) criteria.  The criteria is organized by level A (the minimum requirement), AA (a secondary level requirement), or AAA (an advanced requirement).  The Texas Administrative Code requires our webpages to meet all A/AA criteria.  This WCAG Overview includes a “How to Meet WCAG 2 (Quick Reference)” link as well as links to the standards.

WebAIM (Web Accessibility In Mind) offers an exhaustive list of training, tools, keyboard shortcuts and simulation resources. WebAIM is a non-profit organization based at the Center for Persons with Disabilities at Utah State University.

The Department of Information Resources webpage offers a host of tools, training sites and related resources.  The resources are grouped as follows:

  • Development
  • Testing
  • Usability
  • Procurement
  • Management and Governance
  • DIR WCAG 2.0 Accessibility Web Scanning Program
  • EIR Accessibility Learning Management System

Google Accessibility  offers the opportunity to join the conversation and connect with others about accessibility-related topics.  This website offers you the opportunity to:

  • join the Accessibility Forum or the Eyes-free email list
  • apply for the Accessibility Trusted Tester program
  • learn about Google’s Faculty Research Awards Program
  • learn about Google’s efforts to improve the user experience, and
  • learn about Google’s Impact Challenge:  Disabilities

DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, Technology) recommends the Tools and Resources page offered by the University of Washington.